Hello

dog--intro

I am an author and creative director dividing my time between Los Angeles and New York. I am working on several projects with publishers and with clients while speaking at conferences and organizations here and in Europe.

Before setting up this new bi-coastal life, I was Managing Director and Executive Creative Director of mcgarrybowen in New York.  I helped build the agency, from its humble origins as a couple of dozen people sitting in a room looking at the phone and waiting for it to ring — to the global behemoth (1,000+ people, offices on three continents) it is today.  We were named Ad Agency of the Year (twice by Ad Age and once by Ad Week which is apparently more picky) and I am proud to share in the credit for that. In our first ten years, we won a crazy number of accounts including Chase, Verizon, Chevron, Reebok, United, Kraft, Sears and Disney.  If you keep scrolling down, you’ll see some of the work I did with my guys, work which got us those laurels and a ridiculous amount of new business.

Before that, I was Chief Creative Officer of Doremus, which I helped to turn from a 100-year-old tombstone shop into the B-to-B and Corporate Agency of the Year serving clients from Corning to Goldman Sachs. I rebuilt the creative and production departments and, in my first year on the job, we won eleven new accounts. Phew.

I built my skills as a marketer and a writer  at some of the best agencies in the industry including Ogilvy, Young & Rubicam, and Hal Riney. You’ll see some of the work I did for them down below too.

I am also an author and have written and illustrated seven best-selling books on art and creativity. If that piques your curiosity, let me know and I’ll send you copies of them.

After nine years of helping to build mcgarrybowen, I am curious to learn about new industries and new challenges.  I would love to  help you  and your company with my skills and experience as a manager of creative people, a skilled strategist and problem solver, an award-winning writer and a proven executive.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.